Tapping into God’s Benefit Package

Benefits

BLESS THE LORD, oh my soul!  There’s nothing like coming together as the body of Christ and worshiping and praising the Lord.  But’s there’s also something very special about those private times when we’re home alone and have our own time of praise and worship with the Father.  This past week the enemy really came against me in a couple of areas in my life, and I spent a lot of time fighting the good fight of faith.  I truly believe praise is powerful.  The scripture in Romans 4:20-21 came to mind which says “No unbelief or distrust made him (Abraham) waiver (doubtingly question) concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong and was empowered by faith as he gave praise and glory to God, fully satisfied and assured that God was able and mighty to keep His word and to do what he had promised.”  (Amplified)

I was walking around my house praising the Lord and something inside me was trying to make it unique and “my own” and I tried making up my own songs, and then all of a sudden the first few phrases from “10,000 Reasons” came to mind.  I began to sing those few lines “Bless the Lord, oh my soul, oh my soul, and worship His holy name, sing like never before, oh my soul, and worship His holy name” over and over and over.  Psalm 103 says “Bless (affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, oh my soul; and all that is (deepest) within me, bless His holy name!” (Amplified)  As I kept singing that over and over, I could feel that deepest part within me start to well up inside and it was like literally every part of my being was praising the Lord!  The tears began to flow and it was like there was a moment of brokenness followed by a feeling of total victory!!!  I don’t feel like these words adequately describe what happened, but I have to say it was an incredible experience!

I began to reflect on Psalm 103 and actually laid my Bible on my bed opened to that passage and every time I walked by it, I read those scriptures (versus 1 through 5):  “Bless (affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul; and all that is [deepest] within me, bless His holy name!  Bless (affectionately, gratefully praise) the Lord, O my soul, and forget not [one of] all His benefits – Who forgives [every one of] all your iniquities, Who heals [each one of] all your diseases, Who redeems your life from the pit and corruption, Who beautifies, dignifies, and crowns you with loving-kindness and tender mercy; Who satisfies your mouth [your necessity and desire at your personal age and situation] with good so that your youth, renewed, is like the eagle’s [strong, overcoming, soaring]!”

Then I began to make it personal – “You have forgiven every one of all my iniquities, You have healed each one of all my diseases, You have redeemed my life from the pit and corruption (my interpretation of this is any destruction the enemy may try to bring), You have beautified, dignified and crowned me with Your loving-kindness and tender mercy; and You have satisfied my mouth with good so that my youth, renewed, is like the eagle’s (strong, overcoming and soaring!”  I don’t know about you, but that’s a lot of benefits that touch just about every part of our lives.  I would encourage you to tap into those benefits that the Lord has provided you with!  When a company provides a benefits package to their employees, they’re provided for the benefit of the employee; they’re provided from the employee to USE!  These benefits from God belong to us.  They are for our benefit and when the enemy comes against us we can stand on the Word of God and remind the devil, as well, of all that God has provided us with.

What are you doing with God’s benefit package?

Author: Cindy Byrd

Welcome to Warriors of Worth!

Leave a Reply

